Cites & Bytes @ Bailey

a library newsletter, a compendium of interesting tidbits, a communication tool....from Bailey Library @ Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania. (Site Feed)

Monday, January 17, 2005

Children's Literature: Caldecott, Newbery Awards Announced

Cynthia Kadohata, author of Kira-Kira, and Kevin Henkes, illustrator and author of Kitten’s First Full Moon, are the 2005 winners of the John Newbery and Randolph Caldecott medals, the most prestigious awards in children’s literature.

Toni Morrison, author of Remember: The Journey to School Integration, and Kadir Nelson, illustrator of Ellington Was Not a Street, are the winners of the 2005 Coretta Scott King Awards honoring African American authors and illustrators of outstanding books for children and young adults.

Other awards announced today include the Michael L. Printz Award, the Margaret A. Edwards Award, the Schneider Family Book Award, the Laura Ingalls Wilder Medal, the Robert F. Sibert Award, the Andrew Carnegie Medal, the Mildred L. Batchelder Award, and the May Hill Arbuthnot Lecture Award. Read more about the winners here.... and more background on the awards here.


Post a Comment

<< Home