Cites & Bytes @ Bailey

a library newsletter, a compendium of interesting tidbits, a communication tool....from Bailey Library @ Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania. (Site Feed)

Wednesday, October 24, 2007

Stephenson Scholarship Winners Honored...

Winners of the 2007-2008 Marjorie Stephenson Scholarship awards were honored Friday, October 19, with a tea in the Special Collections room. Marjorie Stephenson was a humanities librarian at Bailey Library from 1971-1978. Her estate established this scholarship to reflect her interest in and support of students. This year's recipients include Kalia Mason, Amanda White, Kara Obruszewski, Alyssa Papay, Matthew Kwiatkowski, Annamae Meyer, Jazmine Loman, and Stacy Alabran. Amanda, Alyssa, Annamae, and Stacy are all library student employees. Get more information about this scholarship here... priority is given to black female students in the humanities.

The tea is an occasion for the library to become better acquainted with the scholarship recipients, who share information about their aspirations, and to remember Miss Stephenson, whose generosity supports those goals.


Anonymous Leigh Forbes said...

Hey...Alyssa & Stacy are student teaching this semester! I'm supervising them & can definitely agree that they are outstanding individuals :)

9:33 PM  
Blogger Melba Tomeo said...

Yes, we miss them at the library but our loss is a gain for their students.

10:20 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home